The Amazing BB Cream

BB cream, also known as Blemish Balm, Blemish Base or Beblesh Balm is a cosmetic item sold mainly in East and Southeast Asia, although larger beauty brands are increasingly introducing BB creams to Western markets as well. Originally formulated in Germany by dermatologist Dr. Christine Schrammek in the 1950s, the cream was initially used to protect skin after laser procedures and surgery, while also providing light coverage.  BB cream has been named “the secret of Korean actresses” and has been heavily endorsed by Korean celebrities, which helped it gain large exposure in these Asian markets.  Although this cream has not gained the popularity here in the States equal to Asia, it is definitely a hidden little gem.  I ordered the Super 79 Beblesh Balm from Amazon for a mere $15.00 with shipping and I’ve been using it for the past 8 months now, and the results have been amazing.

BB creams provide moisturizing, sunscreen protection, whitening and anti-wrinkle benefits.  Regarding the whitening, I have no desire to be lighter, this caused a bit of skepticism, however, I have found it has not whitened , but evened out the hyperpigmentation (dark splotches) on my skin.   The product is also VERY light in tone, this doesn’t pose a problem because I simply add a bit of concealer and powder to add the warmth I need.  I’ve also known of women to use a light foundation over it as well to deepen it.  The packaging is in a pump form, which is great because this way, there is no chance of contaminating the product.   The Super 79 Beblesh Balm only comes in one tint, however, there there are options for those who may want options, such as Missha BB Cream, which is also great.  Because I use it as a skincare product for it’s many benefits, I am not concerned with the tint shades since I am able to alter it with cosmetic products.

BB Cream has been a welcome addition to my skincare regimen, it is a hidden little gem, which I believe your skin will appreciate as well.

2 thoughts on “The Amazing BB Cream

  1. Donni, this stuff is a kick! I had two second-degree sunburns – one when I was 17 and another at the age of 21. I had resigned myself to a chest and neck-ful of sun spots as the residual result. But having used this for the last couple of months per your recommendation herein, and those annoying dots are GOING AWAY. This stuff is amazing! Thanks, doll!

Let's Chat About Your Questions or Comments

