The Classic Smoky Eye

As a makeup artist in the entertainment industry, many of my clients require their makeup to transition seamlessly from day to night.  A classic soft, smoky eye (seen above on Kate Mara) is my favourite look to achieve this.  It segues easily from day to night, and requires plenty of layering and blending.  The biggest faux pas women seem to make with a smoky eye, is applying the colour too heavy with little blending, and choosing shades far too dark for their complexion. This translates into a heavy and overpowering feel for everyday wear, and gives the illusion of a raccoon eye.  A smoky eye does not mean finding the blackest black shadow, but is more about choosing a shade which will be most complementary to your skin tone, and the choices are numerous.  Of course, it all boils down to preference, and is completely subjective.  My preference has always been a softer, smoky eye, as I feel it looks clean and polished.  In the coming weeks I will be showing step-by-step instructions on achieving this look, as well as many others.  In the meantime… easy does it.

2 thoughts on “The Classic Smoky Eye

  1. ~ Thanks so much for your wonderful post…
    I love all articles about eyelashes, mascara, as I have really straight lashes and when properly curled makes my eyes look bigger and gorgeous..

    I so love sharing with others about great products I have tried ~ The best ever“ heated eyelash curler I have ever found is the Hot Lashes eyelash curler, makeup Artist kit. Loved the reviews on Amazon and was impressed. There is also a site of the same name Hot Lashes.com.

    This curler is exactly like the Shu Uemura curler with a amazing 24K gold plated curler and this small pink heater base. Keeps my lashes curling till the next day. and my eyes really pop…I so HTH~

Let's Chat About Your Questions or Comments

