Chronicles Of A Stylista

Memorial Day weekend marks the beginning of summer, although not official until June 21, and is used as an occasion to fellowship with friends and family at poolside parties and cookouts. Most important, it is the day set aside to honour those who fought for many of the freedoms we have in this country. My weekend was low key, yet productive, it all began with organizing the closet of a friend of mine.

After spending a few hours purging the closet, we were left with an ample pile of things to go to the Los Angeles Mission, where men and women are in need of clothing, shoes, toiletries, etc. as they prepare to reenter the work force after recovering from drug and alcohol addictions…one of my favourite causes.

I utilized this spacious, distressed bureau to open up more space in the closet. When space is limited, it is sometimes necessary to get creative.

After spending hours cleansing and purging, I was utterly famished. We decided to order Thai food from Pink Elephant in Canoga Park, which was delicious, I had the Pad Thai Tofu…

and what’s Thai food without vegetable rolls?

As my friend dipped her vegetable roll, I couldn’t help but notice her vibrant coral-red nail polish. She raved about the brand Sally Hansen Insta-Dry

As you can see, there is a colour here for everyone, from the daring to the subtle. The colour on my friend is the first one pictured, Sonic Bloom, while I decided to try the second one from the last, Petal Pusher. Now 3 days later, the colour continues to look freshly done, I’m sold on it and look forward to trying some of the other shades. At less than $5 per bottle, it seems an entire nail wardrobe may be in order. By the way, the Insta-Dri Anti-Chip Top Coat is the perfect finishing touch.

So after a productive day of closet purging and organizing, great Thai food and an introduction to great new nail products, I thought it’d be ideal to wrap up the Memorial Day weekend with an intimate get-together. I decided to make a pie for my guests, and this was no small feat, as I am not so proficient in the kitchen… nevertheless, I jumped right in…

and voila! The finished product, the Anne’s Delight (named after my friend’s mom and creator).

Pure, yummy goodness…

Let's Chat About Your Questions or Comments

